Counties Transit Improvement Board (CTIB)

  1. What is CTIB?
  2. The Board & Committees
  3. CTIB Grants Awarded
  4. Additional Information

The Counties Transit Improvement Board was created on April 1, 2008, as required by Minn. Statute Section 297A.992, by a joint powers agreement between the counties of Anoka, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey and Washington. Its purpose is to receive and distribute the quarter-cent transit sales tax and the $20 motor vehicle sales tax, permitted by the Legislature. CTIB distributes the collected taxes by awarding annual grants for the development, construction, and operation of transitways serving the five-county area.

These five counties hold 92 percent of residents within, as well as more than 92 percent of the tax base of, the entire Twin Cities metropolitan region.