Sheriff's Office Overview

About the Law Enforcement Center

The Washington County Law Enforcement Center is adjacent the County Government Center and courthouse located in Stillwater, Minnesota. The LEC the primary base of operations for the Washington County Sheriff's Office and all of its divisions. 

The Sheriff's Office also operates several remote "substations" around the county for use by patrol deputies and investigators  in order to complete reports in a timely fashion without having to leave their contract area or patrol grid. Substation offices are not generally staffed on a regular basis and are not publicly accessible.


The Sheriff's Office is divided into six divisions and operates within a distinct chain-of-command. The Administrative Division is overseen by Sheriff Dan Starry and Chief Deputy Brian Mueller. The remaining divisions are each overseen by a Commander who reports directly to the Sheriff and Chief Deputy.

Washington County Sheriff's Office 2018 Organization Chart

 Division Commanders are:

  • Special Services Division (Records / Communication)- Commander Andrew Ellickson 
  • Patrol Division - Commander Doug Anschutz
  • Investigative Division - Commander Sara Halverson
  • Jail Division - Commander Roger Heinen
  • Courts / Special Projects - Commander Cheri Dexter
A breakdown of division functions is available on the Sheriff's Office Divisions page.